Facebook Icon
LinkedIn Icon

Over 50 Alumni Gather in D.C. for USSYAA Annual Dinner, Membership Meeting & Hospitality Day

March 3, 2002

Individuals from around the country assembled in Washington, D.C., March 1–2, 2002, to participate in the United States Senate Youth Alumni Association's (USSYAA) fourth annual Alumni Weekend. Over fifty alumni and guests attended the weekend's events, including a dinner, membership meeting, and "Hospitality Day" at the 40th Anniversary U.S. Senate Youth Program.

On Friday evening, March 1, alumni gathered at 218 Maryland Avenue, an exquisite 1878 Victorian home owned by Kay Webber, staff assistant to Senator Thad Cochran of Mississippi. During the Annual Dinner, John Blakley (MI '76), USSYAA president, presented the 2002 Alumni Service Award to Jim Molloy, USSYAA executive director and last doorkeeper of the U.S. House of Representatives. Molloy served as doorkeeper from 1974–1995, during which time he directed almost 400 administrative and professional staff in a full array of services for members, committees, and affiliated organizations. As primary aide to House speakers Carl Albert, Thomas O'Neill, James Wright, and Tom Foley, Molloy coordinated 71 joint sessions of Congress, including the Annual State of the Union Address given by the president. Prior to being elected doorkeeper, Molloy served as House finance officer, overseeing growth of the legislative appropriations for the House from $75 million to $126 million between 1969 and 1974. He presenntly serves as chairman of the board of directors of the U.S. House of Representatives Federal Credit Union, a position to which he has been elected 27 successive times. Molloy holds an honorary doctor of laws degree from his alma mater, Canisius College. He completed the bachelor's of science in economics in 1958.

On Saturday morning, March 2, alumni gathered at the law offices of Williams & Connolly for the fourth Annual Membership Meeting. Alumnus Mike Sundermeyer (MO '69) is a partner in the law firm. Alumni voted to propose the restructuring of the board of directors to provide for succession to the office of president. In addition, the proposal will include a rotation system for board members. Members elected the following alumni as officers for 2002–2003:

President: John Blakley (MI '76)

First Vice President: Bob Middleton (DC '66)

Second Vice President: Randy Brantley (NC '81)

Secretary: Christine Drager (AK '88)

Treasurer: Scott Shapiro (WA '88)

Director of Communications: Norman Fortenberry (LA '79)

Director of Technology: Dan Brown (MS '87)

Director of Alumni Programs: Nathan Humphrey (CA '90)

Liaison Officer: Mike Sundermeyer (MO '69)

Parliamentarian: Craig Hulvey (ID '68)

On Saturday afternoon, alumni participated in "Hospitality Day" at the 40th Anniversary U.S. Senate Youth Program. The program is housed in the Renaissance Mayflower Hotel in Washington, D.C. At the invitation of Tom Eastham, Hearst Foundation western region director, alumni staffed four "mentoring tables" on the topics of education, medicine, business, and law/government. Alumni discussed education preparation, job seeking, and career advancement with the 2002 Senate Youth Program delegates. As has been the tradition in past years, the program host for the evening invited alumni to introduce themselves to the newest class of delegates and offer words of congratulation.

Pictures from the Weekend