Facebook Icon
LinkedIn Icon

U.S. Senate Youth Program Alumni Gather in D.C. for Second Annual Alumni Weekend

March 2000

At the Association's annual meeting in March 2000, eighteen former delegates from all over the country met at the Washington, D.C. law firm of Williams & Connolly. Among other business, the alumni elected their first slate of officers, who will serve two-year terms:

John Selmon Blakley (MI, 1976), now Antitrust Attorney and Compliance Officer with the investment banking firm Morgan Stanley, New York, NY
First Vice President:
Wendy Jo Peterson (WA, 1978), now Director of Development and Alumni Relations, College of Education, Washington State University, Pullman, WA
Second Vice President:
Robert R. Middleton (DC, 1966), now Hearings and Appeals Examiner, District of Columbia Government, Washington, D.C.
Scott Shapiro (WA, 1988), now President of Eagle Rock Ventures LLC, an investment firm in Seattle, WA
Christine Drager (AK, 1988), now Staff Member, Subcommittee on Interior of the Appropriations Committee of the United States Senate, Washington, D.C.
Craig W. Hulvey (ID, 1968)
Liaison Officer:
Michael S. Sundermeyer (MO, 1969), now partner of Williams & Connolly, Washington, D.C.
Director of Communications:
Randy L. Brantley (NC, 1981), now Director of Foundation and Corporate Relations, Chowan College, Conway, NC
Director of Technology:
Dan Brown (MS, 1987), now President of db interactive, an Internet consulting firm, Washington, D.C.
Director of Alumni Programs:
Nathan J.A. Humphrey (CA, 1990), now Chaplain, Washington Episcopal School, Bethesda, MD

At the annual dinner, the association paid tribute to Randolph A. Hearst for his support of the Senate Youth Program and to the Honorable Susan M. Collins, United States Senator from Maine and a Program delegate in 1971.